Skip to content
December 11, 2010 / hoopersx

Huffington Post & Free Speech

Let me preface this by saying I really don’t have any idea if I am being censored.  However, suddenly today, everytime I post in the comments on Huffington Post, I get a message telling me that my comments need to be approved.  So far, from what I can tell, my posts are being approved, eventually.  But this was never the case.  My posts had always been posted in realtime and never needed to be approved before.

We’ll see.  It’s just an observation.  Maybe the links to my site have caused this.  But I never just post the link as a reply.  I always write a legitimate reply to the original post and invite them to come join the debate here.

Have a great weekend all!  I’ll have something new tomorrow.  Thanks for participating.  For a blog with ABSOLUTELY no advertisement and no help from the top search engines this has been a very rewarding experience.  In about six days, I have had over 400 page views and 19 comments(from people who aren’t my friends or family).  I think that is a pretty good start.  And I have all of you to thank!

Update:

My account on Huffington Post has been “Removed”.  I have been given no explanation and no prior warning.  I sent an email to the “Contact Us” link asking why my account has been removed.  I doubt I will hear anything back.  If it was my posting links to my site then OK.  But i’ve read nothing in their Comments policy that says I am not allowed to do so.  And even if I am not allowed to do it, shouldn’t I have at least been given a warning?  And, for evertime I posted a link to my site, I ALWAYS made a real response to the original post.  I never just posted the link to this site.  I engaged the author in a real conversation/debate.  For a site that touts itself as the place where progressives go , I find this to be wrong, on a lot of different levels.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Becca / Dec 11 2010 8:29 pm

    I LOVE CONAN!

  2. Robert / Dec 16 2010 4:14 pm

    Hooper, I’ve experienced the same issues with The Huffington Post and I find it, at times, infuriating. Seemingly benign comments never appear, and it makes me wonder why. I understand their desire to limit comments that are offensive or inflame the discussion between those people commenting, but I sometimes wonder if there is a deeper agenda. The Huffington Post uses other commenters to moderate the comments. While I suppose this is an efficient way of moderating comments, it does leave this process open to the political whims of those who moderate the comments, which I think is unfair, regardless of a person’s political leanings. Open, honest, and reasoned debate is never bad.

  3. chaz / Dec 24 2010 4:46 pm

    Hoop! your my kinda dude!
    But i suspect the reason they deleted you has more to do with eliminating competition and not free speech…
    I have had many difficult times with the “moderation” and even now i feel i have to be careful what i type because they have strict word tags that get you “reviewed” they do NOT follow their own policy and are just as MONEY and emotionally driving as all modern day corporate cubical zombie drones…they have an “Image” to uphold and fuck save me if i can figure out what that image is except dictated by the been counters..But i keep coming back to them because of the site popularity and my desire to have my say and some how in my small way change the course of discourse to something rational and not so skewed to favor this drone cult society we are stuck in that is spiraling down into despotism.. even now i question can i use that word? and then realize you wont censor me the way Huffy P does.. And god help you mention Israels apartheid…By the way a great e thesis on that whole mess that is creating quite a stirrrrrr!!!
    http://www.scribd.com/doc/37214827/Israel-Jennifer-Peto

Leave a Reply

